The Nuclear Whales

The Nuclear Whales

Fathom This: A Retrospective


I was outraged when I heard this. The Nuclear Whales are a six-piece saxophone ensemble, playing the range from the toy-like sopranino to the monstrous contrabass. They mix whale sounds in their compositions. They play “It Don’t Mean A Thing (so) Sing, Sing, Sing.” And this is an anthology . Why haven’t I heard of them before? Heads will roll!

It may sound like shtick, but a single listen will convince you of the enormous talent and originality behind the ensemble. Skillful arrangements and flawless interpretations make Fathom This quite the introduction to the band. Other pieces on here include “Harlem Nocturne,” “Fascinating Rhythm,” “Summertime” and a closing “Also Sprach Zarathustra” that is sure to wake up any party. A sprinkling of originals proves that they’re no slouches at composition, either. Fun and flabbergasting.

Whaleco Music, P.O. Box 5241, Santa Cruz, CA 95063;

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked with *

Recently on Ink 19...

From the Archives